What’s in a baby person?

I’ll be honest – I’m one of those annoying people who coos over babies, puppies and kittens. I’ll gladly pick up a baby, ANY BABY, and sing to them, cradle and rock them in my arms and pepper them with lots of kisses. 

I suppose that makes me a “baby person”? 

I get that a lot – the whole, “Oh you’re wonderful with children!” I usually just put it down to me currently being a childcare worker but when I think about it, I have ALWAYS loved babies/toddlers/children. I don’t know what it is but I suppose I do have a way with them? And no, I don’t think it’s because of my wide repertoire of nursery rhymes 😛 

So I got to thinking – are you only a baby person because the baby isn’t yours? What if I’m horrible at bringing up my own child when the time comes? What if for some strange obscure reason my baby hates the sound of my voice and my bony arms? Why do I feel as if I have expectations to meet before I even have a child of my own?

Should I start being less of a baby person in public and just coo at baby pictures in private?

I’ve come to the conclusion that just as I’ve learnt to NOT ask married couples why they aren’t popping babies out and to NOT ask when they’re planning on doing so, I reckon we should, similarly, go easy on comments ranging from “WOW! You’re great with babies!” to “You’ll be so good when you have your own children.”

You’re welcome, however, to tell me that I’d be perfect as the next token Asian on Play School and The Wiggles. To that I’d say, hell yea! Call me, ABC 🙂 Let’s talk.

xx

Leave a Reply

