On The Menu :: Marble Cake (Mayhem)

On my days off – if I’m not teaching – I’ll lazily get into the kitchen for a spot of baking. I’m terrible like that – lots of plans swimming around in my head but such a procrastinator, it’s disgusting! Anyhow, in the last month or so, muffins of all shapes and sizes have been making quite the appearance. Alongside (some pretty ugly) Portuguese Egg Tarts. So as you can imagine, I am well and truly sick of baking – and consuming – muffins or egg tarts.

So seeing as I did not have to teach today, I thought I ought to bake something a little more “special” to munch on this week. At first I was tempted to revisit The Little Teochew’s Steamed Chocolate Cake but decided against it and in the end, settled to bake her Marble Cake.

Now, my Monday had not started out manic. But as I began to bake, I slowly but surely was descending into a kitchen nightmare. Hindsight, as they say, is always 20/20. For starters, I wish I’d read The Little Teochew’s post a little more thoroughly and had instead gone with Pick Yin / Life is Great’s Marble Cake … …

(a.) I would not have chucked into my MIL’s old food processor 225g of flour, 225g of sugar and about 100g of not-quite-softened unsalted butter; only to say to self …

(b.) “OMG. This food processor isn’t big enough! HTF am I going to blitz this all up?!” Keeping in mind that some 4 eggs and another 125g of butter hadn’t gone into the mix yet.

(c.) I then pushed on because I THOUGHT that a blitz or two will help “reduce” the “total size” of the unmixed ingredients (I know. WTF logic is that?!), so I switched on the food processor and hit “HIGH”. No. “LOW”. No… “PUSH”.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO. THIS CANNOT BE HAPPENING TO MEEEEEEEEEE……….!!!!!!!! THE FOOD PROCESSOR DOESN’T WORK! HTF AM I GONNA SEPARATE THE FLOUR FROM THE SUGAR SO THAT I CAN CREAM THE BUTTER AND THE SUGAR?!

FMFL.

Now ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, if ever anyone tells you that they have a particular kitchen appliance in their possession, PLEASE DO NOT EVER assume that said appliance is in good working condition. ESPECIALLY IF YOU’VE NEVER EVER SEEN IT IN USE.

In retrospect, I should probably have tested out the food processor – hit a few of those damn buttons to see if it’d actually whizz or not. But being the ever so impulsive me, I just threw all the ingredients in. As instructed. I could have picked out the cubed butter and simply threw out the flour and sugar but I’m McScrooge remember?

To cut the long story short, after throwing out the obviously broken food processor, I cursed, swore, beat, blended, huffed, puffed and FINALLY, produced a Marble Cake for afternoon tea.

23c7d354139511e3be8622000a9f192b_7

The cake is decently yummy but I do agree with The Little Teochew on the texture of the cake’s crumb. It isn’t as fine as I myself prefer it to be so my next marble cake recipe will definitely be Pick Yin’s!

Bon appetit, mes amis! Have a lovely week ahead! xx

Leave a Reply

