On The Menu :: Moroccan Chicken Stew with Carrots, Apricots and Raisins

If you haven’t already guessed, I have a bit of a sweet tooth. Dessert is probably my favourite course at dinner and I’ve always been a little partial to main courses that have some sweet, dried fruit in them. I guess I’m a big kid like that – need something sweet or I won’t eat my vegies etc 😛

After having Moroccan-style chicken stew for lunch at Kindy some time ago, I was determined to recreate it at home. I loved the party in my mouth with every bite of currants I got and I figured I could do the same with raisins – my favourite snack! To complete that journey to Morocco, I threw in some apricots too. The result – a lip-smacking dish that took no time to prepare! #WINNING 😀

Moroccan Chicken Stew with Carrots, Apricots and Raisins (Serves 4-6)

INGREDIENTS

1KG chicken drumsticks

3 large carrots, coarsely chopped

2/3 cup of dried apricots

1/2 cup of raisins

3 tbs plain flour

2 tbs lemon juice

2 tbs tomato paste

2 tsp ground cumin

2 tsp ground ginger

2 cloves garlic, minced

500ml Campbell’s chicken stock

salt and pepper

METHOD

1. Marinate the chicken drumsticks with a pinch of salt for about 30 minutes in the fridge.

2. Whisk together chicken stock, ground cumin, ground ginger, plain flour, tomato paste, lemon juice and a dash of black pepper. Set aside for use later.

3. Heat up a tablespoon of olive oil in a deep casserole pot and brown chicken drumsticks, taking care not to over-crowd the pot. 

4. Once all the chicken drumsticks have been browned, add in chopped carrots, apricots and raisins.

5. Pour in chicken stock mixture and bring stew to a boil. Lower the fire and allow stew to simmer for about an hour. 

6. Serve hot and on a bed of couscous.

Image

So, tell me, do you like fruit in your savoury dishes? I know of people – chefs included – who simply will not stand for it. Why not, I will never know! I, for one, am pretty turned off by cashew nuts in food 😛 

I hope you give this recipe a whiz and if you do, let me know how it goes! Bon appetit! xx

Leave a Reply

