Cook’s Block

“Cook’s Block”, not too different from the widely-known “Writer’s Block”, is what I believe I’m suffering from at the moment. I am just so BORED of the recipes that I’m recycling day in…. day out. Don’t you sometimes feel like you need a new recipe ever so often just to spice (pun not intended) things up a little?

After 4 consecutive weekends of baking muffins in under one hour, I decided I had HAD IT with them blueberry muffins! Choc chips included or otherwise! I had had ENOUGH! Especially since my very last round of muffins turned BLUE from me leaving my frozen blueberries in the mix for much too long (and also because I had thrown in an additional 100g too much of raisins). I was annoyed and was desperately seeking a new challenge.

So off I went in search of a new recipe and chanced upon The Little Teochew’s recipe for a STEAMED chocolate cake. The result – a cake that satiated the thirst for a new recipe, as much as it did a craving. A sweet, moist, fudgy, chocolatey craving. And boy did it bring back great memories! Childhood memories of my favourite Royal Chocolate Cake from Dino’s Cake House 🙂 The Royal Chocolate Cake is very much like Lana’s but for a fraction of the price and with a much lighter and fluffier sponge.

MMMMMM 

As for the chocolate pudding recipe, the following is what I used, except I should have spent a little more time whisking it AFTER taking it off the heat. Not that my pudding/frosting wasn’t good, but it could have been BETTER without a few visible lumps here and there.

Chocolate Pudding Frosting

INGREDIENTS

4 cups water (1 cup will be used to make the cocoa paste)
175g caster sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
120g butter
90g cocoa powder
90g cornflour

METHOD

1. Combine cocoa powder, cornstarch and 1 cup of water to make a smooth paste.

2. Bring all other ingredients to a boil.

3. Take butter mixture off the heat and whisk in the cocoa paste.

4. Return butter/cocoa mixture to the heat and bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Lower heat and continue whisking for another 2 minutes.

5. Take the chocolate pudding mixture off the heat and place it into a larger bowl of icea, all the while whisking as it cools to avoid a skin forming on top of the pudding.

6. Cover with cling wrap, making sure to press the cling wrap lightly onto the surface of the pudding to prevent a skin from forming.

7. When the pudding has come to room temperature, leave it to cool further in the fridge until the cake is cool enough to be frosted.

* * * * * * * * * *

I had soooo much pudding leftover after frosting my cake GENEROUSLY that I could take some into work for my colleagues to tuck into. It was also my husband’s after-dinner dessert for three subsequent nights 🙂

Image

 

The verdict: Well, the parents-in-law said that the cake is so wonderfully moist and fudgy – much better than those store-bought mudcakes! I guess it’s a win!

Bon appetit, mes amis! xx

 

Leave a Reply

