On The Menu :: Chocolate Chip Muffins

I’ve been on a muffin baking spreeeee because these beauties – they’re so easy to bang out and always always ALWAYS taste yummy! Best thing is knowing that I have our “on-the-go” brekkie sorted for the week! πŸ˜€ If you know me, my car is where I eat and where I used to make/answer phone calls. It was the only time I didn’t have to sit in on a meeting or reply an email! A no phone zone it definitely wasn’t… Before I get stoned, please know that I used a hands-free set! πŸ˜›

Anyways, back to muffin baking! So, in my research to DEFINE the act of not overmixing, I chanced upon Michael Ruhlman’s culinary ratio and by golly, it all just made perfect sense!

Now:

For every 200g of plain flour, you will need 200ml of milk, 100g of eggs (beaten), 100g of oil/melted butter, 100g of caster sugar and roughly 2.5 teaspoons of baking powder.

Which means that the ratio is 2:2:1:1:1 πŸ™‚

In addition, the main “ingredient” should be about the same as the amount of flour. You can also replace all or a part of the milk with tea, coffee or any other flavoured liquid.

So now, we have a GREAT standard muffin recipe that we can adapt any way we so please πŸ™‚ I know, I know – this probably isn’t NEWS to you, but it is to me! I love that I will ALWAYS have great muffins, as long as I work with THE RATIO.

With regards to not overmixing (which was what I’d set out to DEFINE in the first place), make sure to only combine all the ingredients in just 15 – 20 strokes. I could probably have settled for 15 but after biting into one of my muffins, I don’t think the extra 5 strokes hurt at all. As long as your batter looks lumpy and gross, you’re on the right track πŸ˜›

Bake muffins at 180 degrees celsius for about 15-20 minutes and when done, turn them out onto a tea towel to cool (as per Alton Brown’s muffin method man) or simply use a wire rack. Because I made mahooosive muffins, I only got 8 out of this recipe.

I have to state that my preference is for the muffin method – that is, one bowl each for wet and dry ingredients. I’m happy to skip creaming the butter and sugar because that just means less to clean up! What about you? Are you for the muffin method or the creaming method?

Can’t wait to try out other (sweet) muffin flavours! Gah! Bon Appetit mes amis! xx

Image

My mahoosive muffin!

Leave a Reply

