On The Menu :: Pressure Cooker Hearty Lamb Shanks

Winter and I – we’ve got a little love/hate relationship going there. Having grown up in the tropics and not a fashionista by any means, I’ve never really known HOW to dress for winter. I remember living in Sydney and feeling really daggy, much like Selma Blair in “Legally Blonde”. All my law classmates looked hip and chic; I just looked very… warm.

I still struggle to dress appropriately in winter but thankfully, my husband, he’s quite the fashionista, so even though I hate that I sometimes have to change out of something because he doesn’t quite “approve”, I’m glad I have him to sorta point me in the right direction.

What I do love about winter? All the hearty one pot wonders I can whip up in minutes. MMMMMM… osso bucco, lamb shanks, beef brisket – COME TO MAMA! I’m so very grateful to the person Denis Papin, who invented the pressure cooker, for without that lovely contraption, I would have to leave my stews on the stove for hours and hours… and not be able to put my legs up as soon. Merci Monsieur Papin!

Pressure Cooker Hearty Lamb Shanks

Ingredients

4 lamb shanks, chopped in half (I asked the butcher for help with this.)

4 bay leaves

2x 400g cans of crushed whole tomatoes

500ml beef stock

125ml white wine

salt, pepper and flour (used to coat the lamb shanks)

3 medium carrots, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, finely sliced

Method

  1. Marinate lamb shanks with salt and pepper. Coat with plain flour and dust off excess.
  2. Heat a tablespoon of olive oil in pressure cooker and brown lamb shanks, one at a time if necessary.
  3. Deglaze the pot of lamb shanks with white wine.
  4. Add in the crushed whole tomatoes, juice and all. Throw in beef stock, bay leaves, chopped carrots and sliced garlic.
  5. Add a little more liquid to ensure that most of the lamb shanks are covered in water but not totally submerged.
  6. Add some cracked pepper before covering the pressure cooker.
  7. Bring pressure up to high. Lower the fire and allow to cook for approximately 30 minutes.
  8. When the pressure has completely dissipated, open the pressure cooker carefully, taste and add more salt and pepper as you like.
  9. Serve on steamed white rice, if you’re Asian like me! 😛

46d35e88ed4111e288fb22000ae911cc_7

Do you love a good feed in winter as much as I do?? 😛 Please give this recipe a whizz and let me know if this warmed up your cold wintry night like it did mine 🙂 And hit me up with some of your favourite recipes too!

Bon appetit! xx

Leave a Reply

