On the Menu :: Muah Chee

I had some flat-leaf parsley in the fridge that I really wanted to use up, so I went and made meatballs for dinner. AGAIN. Bawwwring. And because I was feeling so very very BORING, I thought I’d make some yummy dessert for A 🙂 Good wife I am, I know 😛

I’d come across a few different muah chee (or mochi) recipes a while back but just never got down to actually making some. Since I had an unopened packet of glutinous rice flour in the pantry and lots of ground peanuts (from the MIL), I figured I may as well make the best of ’em all!

The decision then to be made was between methods of cooking – did I want to STEAM the batter and wait 40 minutes or did I want to “take a risk” and MICROWAVE for only 7 minutes?

Because I’m lazy, the decision was made for me – I was going to take the risk and microwave…

And boy, am I DEEELIGHTED that I decided to microwave because in simply under 15 minutes, including prepping all the ingredients and mixing etc, I had me some YUMMY MUAH CHEE! Just like I’d get in Singapore! yippee! *knocks heels together*

Thank you EVERYONE who’s shared their recipes and methods online!

Here’s my recipe and method, adapted from The Little Teochew:

INGREDIENTS

(Muah Chee Batter)

  1. 250g glutinous rice flour
  2. 375ml water
  3. 3 tbsp castor sugar
  4. 2 tbsp shallot/vegetable oil (I used shallot oil this time but will most likely use vegetable oil the next.)

(Peanut Coating)

  1. 200g finely ground peanuts
  2. 50g caster sugar

METHOD

  1. Mix all of the ingredients for the muah chee batter in a covered microwave-safe bowl. (I made sure to mix until the batter was lump-free).
  2. Microwave on high for 7 mins.
  3. Cut into tiny pieces using a kitchen scissor and drop it into the peanuts and sugar mixture. Coat well and serve immediately.

20130522-190912.jpg

I fed a piece to A before he even had the chance to step out of the car and it was sheer JOY that erupted across his face. I knew he thought his wife rocked, especially when he heard that it only took 7 minutes in the microwave! 😀

Bon appetit, friends! Enjoy! xx

Leave a Reply

