Dressing up on a budget!

So in “commemoration” of the end of this financial year, A and I will be going to the Boobalicious Ball, a charity gala in support of Breast Cancer Care WA. It’s still some months away but I got excited and started looking for a dress, the minute I knew we were headed for the ball! ๐Ÿ˜›

I’ve always been pretty thrifty I suppose and simply cannot fathom spending unnecessarily… I get all guilty if I think I’ve overspent and so I’ve done my best to base my shopping philosophy on NEEDS and not WANTS. It doesn’t matter if I deserve something – if my laptop’s not broken, for example, why fix it?! – I have to really NEED something before I’ll splurge.

That said, I knew I didn’t want to spend hundreds on a dress that I was potentially going to wear only once… Or twice if I’m lucky! I also knew that it has to be a long/maxi dress and if strapless, should not be falling off my flat chest ๐Ÿ˜›

I scoured and I searched – online – day after day, night after night but everything I found was either not within budget or simply not appropriate for a ball! Oh how I lamented to A that I would never find THE dress and would most likely have to settle for something “expensive” that I’d have to alter (to fit me) and that in spite of all the effort and money spent, I probably wouldn’t get to wear it again. I know I was just being a drama queen and a lazy one at that, so I finally decided to get off my arse and pop into the shops on my recent day off, since it was clear that simply online shopping just wasn’t going to cut it.

I didn’t think I would find anything off the racks that would fit my petite frame and I definitely didn’t think that I would find it at Ally! But I did, I did! I soooo did find THE dress that ticked all the boxes:

(1.) It’s long.

(2.) It’s cheap.

(3.) It’s ball-worthy.

(4.) It’s strapless and doesn’t slip off my flat chest.

(5.) It’s beautifully drapey and grecian… and I love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

So, what d’ya think?! Did I do well or what?!ย 

20130420-170209.jpg

| ally draped grecian mesh dress, forever new bedazzled jewelled belt |

Even though A didn’tย gushย upon seeing me in the dress, I’m pretty sure he approved ๐Ÿ˜› I’ve also gotten the Whatsapp stamp of approval from the best friend with respect to my choice of statement neckpiece, so all that’s left to do is purchase some footwear and a new clutch – I have my eyes on THIS Religion baby – and Boobie Ball, here we come! ๐Ÿ˜€

xx

4 thoughts on “Dressing up on a budget!

Leave a Reply

