Recipe: Choc Chip Cookies

Anyhoo, I’ve been doing a fair bit of experimenting in the kitchen and figured I really should document it since I adapt recipes where necessary. In the past, my excuse for not cooking or baking was work. Truth – I would sometimes only get home in the wee hours of the morning… By the time the weekend rolled around, all I wanted to do was sleep in front of the telly. All. Day. Long. Well, gone are those days of yore, for now at least. So as much as I adore eating great food, as does A – there is also such joy and a great sense of satisfaction in producing edible delights for the people I love. Living my current life of leisure, I decided there really is no better time than the present to get cracking.

I never used to consider myself much of a baker but having, in recent years, developed quite the sweet tooth, I’ve harboured the idea of being able to recreate some of my favourite desserts at home. Ice-cream as you should or would know, REALLY GETS ME GOING. Durian ice-cream specifically but I’ll leave that story to another post. Since we’re holding off getting an ice-cream machine until we’ve procured all the home essentials, I probably will not be experimenting with ice-cream/sorbet recipes till much later… In any case, there are heaps on my “to bake” including Pandan Chiffon Cake, Creme Brulee, cheesecakes (of all shapes, colours and flavours) so I will be suitably occupied for months to come.

The first recipe I tried out was for chocolate chip cookies and even though the texture of the cookies aren’t exactly what I was after, A loves them so this has been stored in my vault of “go to” recipes. The original recipe can be found HERE and the following is my adaptation:

Ingredients: 
1 cup unsalted butter
2 cups brown sugar (packed)
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla essence
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking soda
½ teaspoon baking powder
3 cups plain flour (sifted)
Chocolate chips – as many as your heart desires! Mine are from the Margaret River Chocolate Factory =)

Directions:
1.   Preheat oven to 170 degrees celsius.
2.   Cream butter and sugars together for about 5 minutes, until light and creamy. Add vanilla extract and eggs.
3.   In a separate bowl mix salt, baking soda, baking powder, and sift flour.
4.   Add dry ingredients slowly to wet while mixing.  Do not over mix.
5.   Add chocolate chips.
6.   Place dough balls that are about the size of a golf ball on un-greased baking paper.
7.   Bake for approximately 10 minutes. Time will vary depending on ovens and the size of your dough balls but you want to take them out just as the tops and sides start to golden.
8.   Let cool on a sheet for 3 minutes. Once they set in about 15 minutes, they will be ready to eat.

This is a super easy recipe to follow and the cookies are similar to those sold at Subway! I used this recipe even before I realised that there’s an awesome food processor sitting in the store room… Which really means I didn’t actually have to cream the butter and sugars by hand. But I did. And the cookies still turned out fiiine. Except I didn’t space them out properly before I popped them into the oven and got this:

What a hoot! I mean, they were edible but dear lord, were they ugly or what?! It pays to learn from your mistakes in the kitchen and now, I produce batch after batch of these…

PS: If you decide not to bake every ounce of the cookie dough you’ve whipped up, just pack it away in an airtight container and freeze. I like it that I have some dough to play with on those odd afternoons I suddenly feel like baking!

Leave a Reply

